What would you do if this happened at your club or range?

Here’s a scenario for discussion. It did happen, but I won’t name the location. I’m curious to know what others would do in this situation.

You are at the club chatting with other members, or servicing your rifle, filling your magazines, or whatever. You notice someone walking in with a small group of other members who you don’t know.

This person is wearing a Flecktarn (German military camo) jacket and a German military-style ski cap.

On the ski cap is an SS Death’s Head brigade capbadge; the infamous Nazi skull and crossbones as worn by the Nazi forces who operated the extermination camps in Hitler’s Third Reich, as well as perpetrating other war crimes and crimes against humanity.

He is the only one of this group wearing military clothing or any obvious badges or insignia. One of them looks like she may be his partner. He is middle-aged, as are the rest of the group he is with.

What, if anything, would you do?

16 thoughts on “What would you do if this happened at your club or range?

  1. Colin

    if I was on duty and I didn’t know the other members, firstly I’d ask for membership cards and for them to sign in and prove their bonafides.

    I’d ask the member I did know if they’re part of a re-enactment group and still in costume, if not I’d ask what’s with the deaths head and cammo gear?

    If he was a racist or raving white supremacist, I’d report it to committee.

    If he’s just a stupid arse who doesn’t understand the offence he could give to our Jewish members amongst others , I’d tell him.

    I suspect anyone down my club would do the same – members drinking tea and shooting the breeze in the club house are anything but shy.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Adi Wilson

      I was always taught not to judge ‘a book by its cover’, is everyone in the UK affected with the ‘Generation Snowflake’ virus ?
      Coincidently, your at the range and a male enters, it could be me, late forties, dressed casually, jeans, t-shirt with no offensive insignia, we get talking, he seems a decent sort of guy, ex-military apparently looking to get back into shooting after a number of years handling firearms in the military.
      What he does not tell you though, he recently converted to Islam, is angry with the governments of the west, ironically at one time he did their bidding, now he wants payback.

      So of the the two individuals including the chappie with the silly antique hat, who is most likely to cause your club and honest gun owners a problem ?

      I know my response, but will save it for later..

      Regards

      Like

      Reply
  2. Nick B

    “come on mate, you can’t be wearing SS insignia in public, it paints us in a bad light – take it off and you’re welcome to stay – if you’d rather not then I’m sorry but I can’t have you shooting.”

    If he refuses to take it off, he gets asked to leave politely. In all liklihood he takes it off and stays.

    This is if I’m the RCO – if I’m not then a polite word with the RO. If he won’t do anything then I’ll politely ask the shooter to remove it. If he won’t then I distance myself from this lot so I’m not tarred with the same brush.

    No problem with camo whatsoever – or German insignia (Wermacht for eg) but – SS no way.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Adi Wilson

      Do you not have rules against camoflaged clothing in UK clubs, here it is strictly forbidden, even camo pants are enough reason to get booted out.
      Sports shooting in Europe is a sport, not a combat mission, its not the image we want.

      Regards

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nick

    By The Way – check out the 17th/21st Lancers cap badge – it’s not a million miles away from a deaths head….

    Like

    Reply
  4. Andy J

    I would guess he’s a Sun/Mail (insert rag of choice) reporter acting as an agent provocateur to get a story to put shooters/shooting in a poor light. He would be (firmly) asked to leave.
    The BBC tried to pull a similar stunt at the War & Peace show a couple of years ago to try to generate a story.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Giles

    Both my clubs are closed clubs, so I he is not a member, who has been police checked and through the 6 month beginners course, he isn’t shooting.

    Club guns and ammo are locked away separately.

    Our entrance is also secure at all times and I doubt any RO would open the door to such a large group.

    Like

    Reply
  6. David

    If I knew they were members I would politely ask him why he was wearing the badge, point out it was offensive, could give shooters a bad name, and report him to the committee. If I was the RCO I hope I’d have the guts to say he was not shooting whilst wearing the badge.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Chris Kinealy

    I would immediatley report this idiot to the Senior person there.
    People who act like that do not belong in MY Gun Club or any other Gun Club or range that I have ever been to.
    I am all in favour of being broad minded but this simply is NOT funny.

    CHRIE KINEALY

    Like

    Reply
    1. Nick Harman

      Let’s face it, he would be a weird person if just seen shopping in ASDA. That kind of overt advertising of offensive beliefs would probably get you banned from any pub in the UK.

      Like

      Reply
  8. David Morris

    The UKPSA draw the line at “camouflage” or overtly military type clothing, and I think if applied in a sensible manner I totally agree with it. I have no problem with people wearing army surplus jackets, as that’s a matter of personal taste. What I would object to is someone heading down to our club in a tactical vest and military insignia, as this goes far beyond a baggy t-shirt and combats that would pass as normal street clothing. I would of course ask him to kindly remove the hat, if he did not I would cite our club constitution that states that all members must not act in a non offensive manner, at which point I would have no problem with getting the rest of the committee evolved.

    Like

    Reply
  9. James

    As if there isn’t enough heat aimed at the shooting fraternity… He rolls up with a deaths head on a hat attracting even more. Was the family brain cell on loan that day? I mean, really…

    Like

    Reply
  10. Richard

    I’d probably bore everyone by telling them the uniform was probably that of 3-SS Panzer Division and not the Totenkopfverbande (SS Death camp guards) as it is a combat uniform. That said I’d then tell him (or get the RO to tell him) that we have a ‘no military regalia’ rule and that it needs to be removed (I dont think we actually have such a rule but it sounds plausible)

    Like

    Reply
  11. Boris

    As my current clubs are all closed clubs with rules against this I would greet them and wonder why they was on our range, and then politly ask them to leave as we have no “open range days”.

    That said there are ranges open to the public, and there are sometimes all kind of odd people showing ut (and the sort of people you make sure that you have a loaded magazine on your person.) There has been cases where people have tried to steal firearms at the range, and that is way you almost never ever ever visit one alone.

    There has also been people turning up at local matches with nazi memorabilia like SS death heads chains around their neck – who have promptly been asked to leave and never ever to turn up again. Some have even been competitiors in other clubs, but has proptly been warned that there is no third strike, if they show up in such clear lack of taste and common sense they will be permanantly banned from any future matches.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Jerry

    It all depends. Is he carrying a properly de-activated broomstick rifle, a fully de-activated Purdy Best gun, or one of those deadly Airsoft Assault Weapons? In these cases, we, the Brits, would be heavily outgunned should he order his people to point and say “Bang!” To avoid bothering the neighbors with another shot heard ’round the world, or to avoid the indignities of a surrender ceremony, I suppose it would be proper for all present to emulate our courageous MP’s and peremptorily fall down dead. We must avoid unpleasantries.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment...

